I love and appreciate Martin Marty but cannot buy his pessimism about the world today . . . 

. . . In fact, unlike the sage Michelle Obama and others, I am feeling hope today like I have not felt for a long time. Marty? Not so much:

For more than a year I engaged in the visual and oral analog to “fasting.” Fasters discipline themselves not to eat. I chose not to comment on the election campaigns.

A digital word-search will find no mention in 50 Monday Sightings of any presidential candidate or party.

The choice was an implicit protest against or retreat from the grossness, waste, distortion, and distraction in what elections have become.

He missed a chance for his own Journal of the Plague Year, I guess.

Source: Many Sightings of Hope | The University of Chicago Divinity School

One thought on “I love and appreciate Martin Marty but cannot buy his pessimism about the world today . . . 

Leave a Reply

